Lens Visibility Settings
This guide explains how to adjust the visibility setting for your Lens.
Do not promote
By default, all live Lenses are public. This means Snapchatters around the world can find and use your amazing creations when they have the Lens's Snapcode, or if they find your Lens in Snapchat, for example in Lens Explorer or in search, or in Snap Camera.
If for any reason you wish to prevent Snapchatters from finding your Lens in Snapchat or Snap Camera, you may set the visibility setting of your Lens to
Do not promote.
Configuring Visibility Settings in My Lenses
Any Lens can be set to
Do not promote. To change the setting on a Lens that you do not want to be found in Snapchat or Snap Camera, follow these steps:
- Find the Lens in My Lenses
- Click on the ••• menu (three dots)
Do not promoteto
That's it! This Lens will no longer be discoverable in Snapchat or Snap Camera. Please allow a few minutes for these changes to take place.
Though your Lens is no longer discoverable in Snapchat or Snap Camera, the Lens is still live. Anyone with the Snapcode or Lens link will be able to use your Lens and share it with others. To prevent anyone from using your Lens you must deactivate it.
Sometimes you may want to take a Lens offline. You can do this at any time by clicking the
If a Lens has been deactivated, the Lens will show
Status. While a Lens is offline, the Snapcode will be deactivated and anybody who scans it will be shown an error message.
At any time, you can make it
Live again by clicking the
When deactivating (or reactivating) a Lens it can sometimes take approximately 10 minutes before the Snapcode stops working.
If for any reason you wish to delete a Lens from your account and from Snapchat, you may delete a Lens by clicking the
Keep in mind that deletion cannot be undone, and you cannot recover a deleted Lens. If you delete a Lens by mistake, you can re-submit the Lens again with the original Lens project file.
After a Lens is deleted, the original Snapcode will no longer work and anybody who scans the original Snapcode will be shown an error message.
After deleting a Lens it can sometimes take approximately 10 minutes before the Snapcode stops working.
Still Looking for help?Visit Support